Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

• Page:

TOPIC: Controls inside Grids for Windows, Android and iOS

Controls inside Grids for Windows, Android and iOS 7 years 3 months ago #1873

Hi, I'm new to XE8 but maybe you can try creating a class based in TDBGrid and changing the canvas of each column to include the component you want to show in each column... I remember this was possible to do in old Delphi (ex. v7) without any problem... think it is possible now too, but wonder if it will work on the platforms you want to.

But same I wanted to leave this clue.

Controls inside Grids for Windows, Android and iOS 7 years 3 months ago #1882

Hi, and, yes, I need it for all platforms. I tried that idea last week. Its still in this projects code somewhere. But it didn't work and I after looking at the code in some detail in couldn't get it to work and moved on. I have no experience writing "class" type code. That was always beyond my skills level. The TMS component is the only alternative since it supports all four platforms which is what i need it for. Anyway. Since you have to first purchase the TMS component, I can't get any help or ask questions on their forum. I am, for lack of better words, stuck. I'm still searching for other company components with the inplace checkbox feature, but TMS seems to be the only one available.

Controls inside Grids for Windows, Android and iOS 7 years 3 months ago #1887

update..

I believe I may have figured out how the FMXGrid from TMS pack for Firemonkey works, finally. The columns auto-sort and there is no way to turn that off. Instead, you have to do the following:

1. In your table, add an unique numeric (primary key) id field, and call that in the grid as the first column.
2. Then, hide that column. But there doesn't appear to be a grid.hide.column(number) function. So, I set the column width to 1.